Countdown

Monday

One more week! He’ll miss New Year’s by a couple days, but we’ll get to see each other again. It’s been so long. I wonder if he grew his hair. I wonder if he still hates beans. MY LITTLE BOY!!!

 

Tuesday

His dad says he likes space now. Should I return the dinosaur sheets? If I leave in 10, I should make it before closing. Did they even have space sheets? Surely they have glow-in-the-dark planet stickers. I should ring first.

 

Wednesday

New Year’s Eve party tomorrow. Got the champers today. Wonder what I can do for food. Will called again. He just doesn’t get the message. I told him it’s just the girls, so I hope he doesn’t show. I’m glad they offered to stay the night. I was worried I’d be cleaning up by myself. So much to do before Benny arrives.

 

Thursday

Happy new year, Benny! Tomorrow, anyway! So, Tracy’s cancelled and Meg has a virus. Beth will be here in soon, but won’t stay the night. It’s fine, I guess. Won’t be much mess with the two of us. Just pizza and movies. And lovely champers! Fuck it, Will’s on the phone. Again.

 

Friday

 

 

Saturday

This isn’t so bad. Everything hurts, but they said I can get out tomorrow. Police came round this morning. I always knew Will wasn’t quite right. Oh well, he’s their problem now. Benny’s going to have a lot of questions. I’ll tell him I saved the world from an arch-villain, like in that comicbook we used to read.

 

Sunday

 

 


In response to a Daily Post writing prompt.

